Cover Art and Owls

It been a busy week since my last post, as I have been manically working on pieces for hand in, but also I was brave and put work into the competition for the front page of our Ma graduation catalogue for the London show (I submitted 2 in the end). They were not selected, but the image chosen is beautiful (more on that nearer the time).

So, for this week’s post I thought I would take you through the hundreds of choices I made to get to the final covers.

1a
It started with this little Owl, (made using Daniel Smith Watercolours).
1aa
Some of his details were picked out using machine embroidery.
1b
I thought he was a little lonely, so added in some parents.
1bb
And a background
1c
then played with many different layouts
2
and added leaves
3
then played some more digitally, adding in more leaves and moving the moon
4
and adding shadows for more depth
5
But it felt too much, so the moon was removed…..
6
…..and the leaves. But I didn’t like them all looking so directly out of the image…..
7
And so for more narrative, I asked the parents to go to sleep. They said they would happily do so, as it was rather bright for them.
8
And then, for my second image, it worked a bit easier – I chose cats! You know by now I love cats. And for the colours I used the “pipette” to choose the colours from the two cats. Oddly I prefer this to the owls, yet it took a tenth of the time.

So there you go….. 2 finished designs, one with more choices than others. The next piece to be created was for my page inside but more on that in the next posts……..

2 thoughts on “Cover Art and Owls

    1. Thankyou Stephanie! Its been quite a journey, and lovely to have you on board for the first excited flurry. I am looking forward to seeing you, and hearing all about your adventures over the past couple of years. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

